top of page

Specialist Disability Accomodation

What is Specialist Disability Accommodation?

NDIS Specialist Disability Accommodation is housing that enables people with extreme functional impairment or very high support needs to live comfortably and receive their daily supports. It can include shared supported accommodation, community residential units, or self-contained homes that are fitted with specialist housing solutions.

It’s important to note that SDA housing is different from Supported Independent Living (SIL), which refers to the support services you receive to help you live independently.

SDA Design Categories

There are 4 different types of Specialist Disability Accommodation (SDA) that is offered to eligible participants.

Improved Liveability 

This SDA type is for people with a sensory, intellectual or cognitive impairment. It includes specialist design features such as increased luminance contrast to help people with vision impairment; light-based doorbells and fire alarms; improved lines of sight; and reduced lighting levels and other stimuli. 

Fully Accessible 

People who have significant physical impairment – for example, wheelchair users – may be eligible for Fully Accessible SDA Housing. Features include no steps at external outdoor areas and doors; wide wheelchair-accessible entryways; appliances that can be reached from a standing or sitting position; and power supply to door and windows so automation can be retrofitted if needed. 

Robust Housing

Robust specialist disability housing may suit people who need help managing complex and challenging behaviours. These homes have adequate space to support the needs of people with complex behaviours; areas of retreat for other residents, carers and staff; impact-resistant materials to protect participants and reduce the need for maintenance and repairs; sound proofing; and laminated glass. 

High Physical Support

High Physical Support homes meet the needs of people with significant physical impairment, or who need a high level of personal support. Along with Fully Accessible Housing specialist design features, they feature structural provisions for ceiling hoists; assistive technology; emergency power supply to protect the welfare of residents; and home automation and communication technology. 

SDA eligibility

The NDIS allocates funding for supported accommodation into two separate parts: Specialised Disability Accommodation (the specialised building that you live in) and Supported Independent Living (the supports and services you need to help you with everyday life).

NDIS participants who have SIL funding are not necessarily approved for SDA. These categories are funded separately in a participant’s plan, which gives people more control over where they live and the support services they use. 

If you have SDA funding in your plan or have questions about eligibility, please get in contact with us, we would love to help answer any questions you may have.

bottom of page